Aboyne Games Results

Champion Piper John Mulhearn

A chilly morning and a lunchtime downpour did not dampen enthusiasm at Aboyne Games on Saturday 5th August, writes Jack Taylor

After a welcome by the Chieftain the Marquis of Huntly, commentator Graham Thomson gave a moving tribute to his predecessor Robbie Shepherd who died three days previously. Fiddler Paul Anderson then played his own composition Lament for Robbie Shepherd: 

At the conclusion of proceedings Piobaireachd judge Malcolm McRae was presented with an engraved silver belt buckle by the Chieftain in recognition of his many years as a judge at Aboyne (see picture below).

John Mulhearn was champion piper with firsts in Piobaireachd, March and Strathspey and Reel. 18 competed.

Under 18 Piobaireachd 
1 Liam Nicolson
2 Craig Mitchell
3 Lewis Stewart
4 Calum Pearson

Under 18 MSR
1 MacKenzie Fraser
2 Liam Nicolson
3 Jonny Coe
4 Craig Michell

U 14 March: 1 Rory Menzies 2 Sophie Bird 3 Andrew Fagan

MacRaeBanner ’19
Ayrshire Bagpipes Nov 2020
shepherd banner ’22

1 John Mulhearn
2 Calum Brown
3 Anna Kummerlöw
4 Callum Carn
5 John MacDonald

1 John Mulhearn
2 Calum Brown
3 Piers Dover
4 Jeffrey Lawson

The Marquis of Huntly makes the presentation
to Malcolm McRae

1 John Mulhearn
2 Piers Dover
3 Calum Brown
4 James McPetrie

1 Calum Brown
2 Piers Dover
3 MacKenzie Fraser
4 James McPetrie

Judges: L Barclay, M Henderson, P Henderson, M McRae, L Tannock, D Watson, W Wotherspoon

Tutor Books 1-3 (USA)

60 lessons in three outstanding tutor books taking the complete beginner to intermediate level and introducing the classical music of the pipes, piobaireachd. All books have free audio and/or video back-up fully explaining the exercises, tunes and the required expression. Since they first appeared in 2015 these books have sold hundreds of copies worldwide. Price includes mailing of £12.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *