Category Archives: Piobaireachd

Highlands and Islands Young Piper of the Year 2017

Senior (30 and Under)
Ceòl Mòr:

1st Charlie MacDonald, Inverness – Lament for Mary MacLeod
2nd Ben Duncan, Edinburgh – MacDougall’s Gathering
3rd James Dyson, Canada- The Piper’s Warning to his Master.
4th Kate Kimove, Canada – The Earl of Seaforth’s Salute
Judges: Iain Morrison and Willie Morrison.

Under 30 March
1st Ben Duncan
2nd Charlie MacDonald
3rd James Dyson
4th Katie Kimov

H and I Young Piper of Year: Ben Duncan

A Better Way to Learn
More Modern Approach
Free Audio & Video!
Easy to Understand

Under 18 March
1st Angus MacPhee,
2nd Katie MacPhee
3rd Calum Craib
4th Finlay Frame

Under 18 S&R
1st Angus MacPhee
2nd Calum Craib
3rd Hamish Drennan
4th Finlay Drennan
Judge for Under 18s: John Don MacKenzie

Under 15 March
1st Brodie Watdon-Massey
2nd Christopher Happs
3rd Bobby Allan
4th Eòsaph Caimbeul

Under 15 S&R
1st Brodie Watson-Massey
2nd Christopher Happs
3rd Eòsaph Caimbeul
4th Eilidh MacPhee

Under 15 Jig
1st Christopher Happs
2nd Brodie Watson-Massey
3rd Eòsaph Caimbeul
4th Laura Robertson

Judge for Under 15s: Donald MacPhee

Open Chanter:
1st Anndra Monk
2nd Maggie MacDonald
3rd Ross Walker
4th Donald Henderson

Novice Piping
1st Innes Scullion
2nd Ryan MacIntyre

Tobermory Games Results

A beautiful day at the friendly games, writes the Editor. The sun shone, the hospitality flowed and the real West Highland character was there in all its glory. There was good piping too.  Not a great entry, but the playing was enjoyable nevertheless. Champion Piper: Angus D MacColl. The above picture shows the judges with Piping Convenor Torquil Telfer relaxing after their day on the bench.

The Mish may be dead but the legacy of Bobby MacLeod lives on through his son and grandson. At the close of play a rejuvenated Bobby Jnr gave us a wide selection of pipe tunes on his button box. The Tobermory Hotel now does what the Mishnish used to.

The piping results:

1 Angus D MacColl, Unjust Incarceration, £100
2 Ed McIllwaine, British Columbia, The Vaunting, £65
3 Angus J MacColl, End of the Great Bridge, £40
4 Alistair Murray, N Ireland and Pittsburgh, Big Spree, £25
5 Ronald Telfer, Lament for Mary MacLeod, £10

Runner-up overall, Angus J MacColl

1 Angus D MacColl, Arthur Bignold, £65
2 Angus J MacColl, £40
3 Ronald Telfer, £25
4 Ed McIllwaine, £15
5 Alistair Murray, £5

Alistair Murray had a tune of two halves in the ceol mor

1 Angus D MacColl, £65
2 Angus J MacColl, £40
3 Alistair Murray, £25
4 Alastair MacLean, £15
5 Harry Walters, £5

Piob (sponsored by Archie and Janet MacDonald)
1 Angus D MacColl, £25
2 Angus J MacColl, £15
3 Ronald Telfer, £10
4 Alastair MacLean, £5

1 Angus D MacColl, £25
2 Angus J MacColl, £15
3 Ronald Telfer, £10
4 Alastair MacLean, £5

1 Angus D MacColl, £25
2 Angus J MacColl, £15
3 Alastair Maclean, £10
4 Ronald Telfer, £5

Piob judges: A Maclean, R Wallace
Ceol beag judges: B Donaldson, I Duncan

Harry Watters, Canberra, Australia, has real potential as a piobaireachd player but chokes and note errors ruled him out of contention

In the ceol mor Angus D MacColl was the clear winner with the Unjust Incarceration. Maybe the low A was not exactly spotted with the drones but the masterly phrasing and technique shone through. Ed McIllwaine had a flattish pipe but consummate phrasing and technique in his performance. Angus J was rather square but deserved his prize. Alastair Murray had a tune of two halves. He started superbly well but half way through lost the plot and was hanging on in the T&C. Fifth went to Ronald Telfer with the best tune we had heard from him. A better crunluath and he could have been considered for a better prize.

A Better Way to Learn
Easy Chanter to Pipes
Strathspeys Made Easy!
Your First Hornpipe!

South Uist Games Results (pictures added)

Lovely dry day on Askernish Machair with a good Uist breeze. Piper Donald MacPhee took the major honours. Senior competition judges were Iain Morrison and Willie Morrison. Junior comp. judges were John Don MacKenzie and Neil Mulvie. The picture above is of Champion Piper Donald MacPhee striding out as the judges look on.

1st Donald MacPhee – Beloved Scotland.
2nd Ben Duncan – MacSwan of Roaig
3rd Kate Kimove – Earl of Seaforth’s Salute
4th Brìghde Chaimbeul – Lament for Ronald MacDonald of Morar
5th James MacPhee – The Groat

1st Donald MacPhee
2nd Ben Duncan
3rd Peter MacGregor
4th Charles MacDonald
5th Brìghde Chaimbeul

1st Donald MacPhee
2nd Ben Duncan
3rd James MacPhee
4th Fiona MacLean
5th Charles MacDonald

Ben Duncan in action today at Askernish Machair

1st Fiona MacLean
2nd Charles MacDonald
3rd Ben Duncan
4th Brìghde Chaimbeul
5th Jamie Dyson

Under 18 MSR:
1st Angus MacPhee
2nd Calum Craib
3rd Finlay Frame

Under 18 Jig:
1st Hamish Drennan
2nd Angus MacPhee
3rd Finlay Frame

Under 15 March
1st Christopher Happs
2nd Brodie Watson-Massey
3rd Kevin Beaton

Under 15 S&R:
1st Brodie Watson-Massey
2nd Christopher Happs
3rd Eòsaph Caimbeul

Under 15 Jig
1st Christopher Happs
2nd Eòsaph Caimbeul
3rd Marion MacCorquodale

A Better Way to Learn
All Ceol Mor Technique
Hard Stuff Simplified!
Four Beautiful Tunes

Northern Meeting Playing Order Announced

The following draws have been issued by the Northern Meeting for their piping competitions to be held later this summer on August 31 and September 1 at Eden Court Theatre, Inverness.

Around 80 senior pipers are scheduled to take part over two days of competition. There is also a full raft of junior events.

The late Alasdair Gillies receiving one of the first of many trophies at the Northern Meeting. This historic picture was taken in 1978. Standing behind the trophy is the NM’s fondly r-remembered Piping Secretary of the day. Ross Martin. Looking on with pleasure is the great P/M Donald MacLeod


Doyen of Northern Meeting PIping Convenors, the late David Murray who died last year

Pipers and judges at the Northern Meeting in 1904. In this shot are such famous names as Angus Macpherson, Invershin, GS McLennan, Willie Ross, John MacDonald, Inverness, James Center and John MacDougall Gillies. How many can you pick out?