Captain John MacLellan Memorial Results

Prizewinners at today’s Captain John

The 8th annual Captain John A MacLellan MBE memorial Piping Championships were held at the Army School of Bagpipe Music and Highland Drumming at Inchdrewer House in Edinburgh today.

The event, one of the premier solo piping contests in the world, received a record entry once again with B & C grade contests full and the A & P grade contests also attracting a very strong entry.

By Senior Pipe Major WO1 Peter MacGregor

The Army School delivered an efficiently run event and the prize giving was underway shortly after 5pm with the prizes presented by Capt John’s son Colin MacLellan. This year’s event was sponsored by McCallum Bagpipes, RG Hardie and Co, The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo and Glenfiddich.

Stuart Liddell took the overall in the P Grade events, Jamie Forester was awarded the ASBM&HD Memorial Trophy for the aggregate over the A grade events. Keith Christie was overall winner in the C grade winning a set of Duncan Macrae bagpipes.

Captain John MacLellan MBE was the first Director of Army Bagpipe Music, setting in motion the legacy that we uphold here at the school every day. Current Director of Army Bagpipe Music, Major Gordon Rowan SCOTS, gave a tribute to Captain John before the prize winners were announced. 

P Piobaireachd 
1st, £300, The Capt John MacLellan Medal, Finlay Johnston
2nd, £240, Callum Beaumont
3rd, £200, Angus McColl
4th, £180, Stuart Liddell
5th, £160, Alistair Henderson 

1st, £190, The Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders Silver Piper, Stuart Liddell
2nd, £160, Cameron Drummond
3rd, £130, Sarah Muir
4th, £110, Craig Sutherland
5th, £80, Ben Duncan

[wds id=”2″]

A Piobaireachd
1st, £250, Jamie Forester
2nd, £200, Darrach Urquhart 
3rd, £180, Cameron Drummond 
4th, £140, Sarah Muir
5th, £100, Steven Leask  

1st, £150, Cameron MacDougall
2nd, £120, Angus J McColl
3rd, £90, Steven Leask
4th, £60, Ashley McMichael 
5th, £50, Matt Wilson 

Overall champion, Stuart Liddell

B Piobaireachd
1st, £140, John Macdonald
2nd, £100, Ashley McMichael
3rd, £80, Calum Watson
4th, £60, Alex Gehrig
5th, £40, Jamie Elder  

1st , £60, Ciaren Ross
2nd, £50, Callum Wynd
3rd, £40, Lackie Dick
4th, £30, Kristopher Coyle
5th, £20, Sandy Cameron

C Piobaireachd
1st, £80, Struan Moffat
2nd, £60, Keith Christie
3rd, £50, Michael Laing
4th, £40, James McPetrie
5th, £30, Christopher McLeish

1st, £50, Stuart McCallum
2nd, £40, Gordon Barclay
3rd, £30, Andrew Bell
4th, £20, Calum Kaye  
5th, £10, Keith Christie  

1st, £150, Callum Beaumont
2nd, £130, Stuart Liddell
3rd, £110, Alasdair Henderson
4th, £90, Sarah Muir 
5th, £70, Ashley McMichael 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *