Argyllshire Gathering Day 2 Complete Results – Pictures Added

Ceòl beag is the focus of the second day at Oban with competitions for ‘A’ and ‘B’ grade March and Strathspey & Reel. There is also the Intermediate MSR for young pipers who played in the MacGregor Memorial the day before, and local contests.

‘A’ March Final, Royal Scottish Pipers’ Society Bronze Star
1 Angus J MacColl, £140 (pictured above receiving the Bronze Star from Piping Convenor Torquil Telfer), John MacFadyen of Melfort
2 Cameron MacDougall, £110, Clan MacColl
3 James MacKenzie, £85, Mrs Duncan MacFadyen
4 Calum Watson, £70, Argyllshire Gathering
5 Callum Beaumont, £60, Stirlingshire Militia
Heat Judges: J Banks, A MacDonald, J Wilson; NB: There was a short leet (twice through) and judges for the final were as per the ‘A’ S&R heat bench.

MacRaeBanner ’19
Ayrshire Bagpipes Nov 2020
shepherd banner ’22
silver chanter banner 2024

‘A’ S&R, Argyllshire Gathering Silver Medal
1 Cameron MacDougall, £140
2 Calum Watson, £110
3 Sarah Muir, £85
4 Callum Beaumont, £70
5 Angus J MacColl, £60
Heat judges: R Livingstone, R Parkes, R Wallace; NB: There was a short leet and judges for the final were as per the ‘A’ March heat bench.

Brown brogues to the fore, Piping Convenor Torquil Telfer presents the ‘B’ grade light music overall trophy to Calum Moffat

‘B’ March
1 Calum Moffat, £95
2 Callum Wynd, £70
3 Lachie Dick, £60
4 Zephan Knichel, £50
5 Andrew Ferguson, £40
Judges: A Forbes, I Duncan, R MacShannon

‘B’ S&R
1 Calum Moffat, £95
2 Jacob Dicker, £70
3 Ross Miller, £60
4 Kris Coyle, £50
5 Finlay Cameron, £40
Judges: A Maclean, J Taylor, R Worrall

Jigs, Donald Shaw Ramsay Memorial Trophy
1 Calum Brown, £90
2 Sarah Muir, £65
3 Ross Miller, £55
4 John Dew, £45
5 Alan Bevan, £35
Judges: R Barnes, M Henderson

Cameron Macdougall with the Argyllshire Gathering Silver Medal for Strathspey & Reel

Intermediate MSR, RG Hardie Memorial Trophy
1 Bobby Allan, £60
2 Cameron May, £50
3 Liam Nicholson, £40
4 Cameron Bonar, £30
5 Calum Bevan, £20
Judges: I MacFadyen, C MacLellan, W Wotherspoon

Junior MSR, Duke’s Medal
1 Alex MacDonald, £200 bursary
2 Callan McGuigan, Silver Medal
3 Rio Arkell, Bronze Medal
Judges: I MacFadyen, C MacLellan, W Wotherspoon

Local March:
1 Gregor MacDonald, £65
2 Innes Munro, £55
3 Aaron Hossain, £45
4 Calan McGuigan, £35

Local S&R:
1 Gregor MacDonald, £65
2 Logie Johnson, £55
3 Innes Munro, £45
4 Aaron Hossain, £35
Local judges: I MacFadyen, C MacLellan, W Wotherspoon

Angus Nicol Quaich for most points in Silver Medal and ‘B’ Grade: Calum Moffat
Royal Celtic Society Prize for Champion Piper (Snr. Piob. & Former Winners’ MSR): Angus MacColl Snr.
Angus Nicol Memorial Medal for most points in MacGregor Piobaireachd and RG Hardie Intermediate MSR: Cameron May

• Check out Day 1 results here and Day 2 results here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *