Results from Robert Burns Juniors, Dumfries

Results of the 17th Robert Burns Piping Contest 53rd September 2016, held in Dumfries Academy, Dumfries, supported by  South West Scotland Piping & Drumming Academy. Prizes were presented by Andy McCartney representing the South West Scotland Piping & Drumming Academy, the group who will now oversee the future of the Robert Burns Piping Contest as Sheila Howat is now stepping down after setting up and successfully growing the event for 18 years. A total 88 competitors entered.

U-11 Chanter
1 Angela Murray Cup:
Fraser Hamilton – Paisley
2 Robert Burns Festival Cup:
Gregor Grierson – Collin, Dumfries
3 Adam Frazer Shield:
Erin Allison – Castle Douglas
4 Galabank Trophy:
Aiden Jardine, Dumfries

U-14 Chanter
1 = Tom Holmes Cup:
Charlie Houston – Kelloholm
1 = Grierson Cup:
Rachel Donald – Gatehouse of Fleet
3   Ship Inn Trophy:
Mackenzie Mitchell – Castle Douglas

U-14  4-parted March
1 The McBurnie Cup:
Brodie Watson-Massey-Edinburgh
2 Provost J Groom Shield:
Christopher Happs – Gorebridge
3 George McBurnie Shield:
Luke Kennedy – Strathaven
4 David McKie Shield:
Rebecca Walker – Eastriggs
5 Tony Turner Cup:
Mae Cranmer – Dumfries
6 Dr Ken McQueen Shield:
Hazel Whyte – Larkhall

U-16 MSR
1 British Nuclear Fuels Cup:
Brodie Watson-Massey -Edinburgh
2 Gallovidian Cup:
Luke Kennedy – Strathaven
3 John McQueen Trophy:
Greig Will – Linwood, Paisley
4 The Holywood Trust Trophy:
Craig Peters – Mossend, Lanarkshire

U-18 March, Strathspey & Reel
1 Penman Trophy:
Ian Hamilton – Paisley
2 Border Gathering Shield:
Ross Strain – Airdrie
3 Lochar Cup:
Christopher Happs – Gorebridge
4 Brian Conchie Cup:
Kyle Currie – Dumfries

U-18 years Hornpipe & Jig
1 Allan Baldwick Cup:
Brodie Watson-Massey-Edinburgh
2 John Dowson Cup:
Owen Muir – Lockerbie
3 Callum Watson Shield:
Bobby Allen – Glasgow
4 Shirley Bell Cup:
Luke Kennedy – Strathaven

U-21 Slow Air, Hornpipe & Jig
1 Russell Brown MP Cup:
Brodie Watson-Massey – Edinburgh
2 Bradford Cup:
Owen Muir – Lockerbie
3 John Agnew MBE Cup:
Christopher Happs – Gorebridge
4 RMT Shield:
Luke Kennedy – Strathaven

U-21 Piobaireachd
1 D & G Burns Trust Festival Cup:
Luke Kennedy (MacFarlanes’ Gathering)
2 D & G Burns Trust Festival Cup:
Christopher Happs (Caber Feidh Gu Brath)
3 D & G Burns Trust Festival Cup:
Hazel Whyte (McIntosh’s Banner)
4 McCall of Brookfield Quaich:
Owen Muir (Wee Spree)

10 competitors played in the piobaireachd and each competitor completed their tune without breakdown.

Judges: I Watson, W Cowan, J Oakes