SPA Professional Contest – Full Results

The annual professional competition run by the Scottish Pipers’ Association was held at the Piping Centre in Glasgow today, April 22. There was a good entry in all categories except P/A. The competition was sponsored by the Piobaireachd Society, McCallum Bagpipes and the Competing Pipers’ Association. President Logan Tannock reported a good standard of play especially among the prizewinners and thanked the stewards who were on duty throughout the day from…

Tomintoul Games – Complete Results

Weather dry and pleasant and not too hot. Eight played. Piobaireachd 1. Allan Russell (pictured), the Vaunting 2. Greig Canning, the Desperate Battle 3. Jonathan Simpson, Melbank’s Salute 4. Calum Brown, the King’s Taxes Judges: I Duncan and D Watson. Marches: 1. Alan Russell 2. Calum Brown 3. Jonathan Simpson: 4. John MacDonald. S&R: 1. Calum Brown 2. Greig Canning 3. Alan Russell 4. Alan Clark. H/J: 1. Calum Brown 2….

Taynuilt Games Results (updated)

Another clean up for Angus MacColl Snr with junior not far behind. Piob 1 Angus MacColl Snr, Cabar Feidh Gu Bragh 2 Angus MacColl Jnr 3 Darach Urquhart, MacCrimmon’s Sweetheart March 1 Angus MacColl Snr 2 Angus MacColl Jnr 3 Darach Urquhart S&R 1 Angus MacColl Snr 2 Darach Urquhart 3 Angus MacColl Jnr Jig 1 Angus MacColl Snr 2 Darach Urquhart 3 Calum MacLean Judge for Piob & Jig:…

North Uist Games Results

Overcast but dry day for the annual games on Balelone Field with competitions for seniors and juniors. Champion Piper was James MacKenzie, Lewis, with Greig Canning, Fife, winning the ceol mor. Greig and James are pictured above. These games completed a very successful three-day run of well-attended solo competition in the Outer Hebrides with South Uist on Weds 18th July, Benbecula Young Piper on the 19th and North Uist on the 20th….

Tobermory Games Results and Comment

Grey day but no rain. Eight played in the senior events. Champion Piper was Alasdair Henderson (pictured above). Piob 1 Angus MacColl Snr (Cabar Feidh Gu Bragh) 2 Alasdair Henderson (My King Has Landed in Moidart) 3 Andrew Hall (Lament for Mary MacLeod) 4 Bob Low (Stewart’s White Banner) 5 Angus MacColl Jnr (Battle of the Pass of Crieff) Judges: R Wallace, J Wilson March 1 Alasdair Henderson 2 Angus…