Skye Gathering 2023 Results Complete

Fred Morrison on stage at the Skye Gathering Hall

The annual, two-day Skye Gathering piping competitions began today in Portree. Thirty entered for the Dunvegan Medal contest for which pipers have to submit four MacCrimmon tunes.

Previous winners are excluded and play for the Col. Jock MacDonald Clasp to the medal. The winner of the 2023 medal was Fred Morrison. We will add to the lists below as we get the results.

Dunvegan Medal
1 Fred Morrison, Macleod of Colbeck’s Lament
2 Darach Urquhart, Earl of Ross’s March
3 Steven Leask, Lament for Donald Duaghal MacKay
4 Nick Hudson, Rory MacLeod’s Lament
5 Ben Duncan, Rory MacLeod’s Lament

Dunvegan Medallist Fred Morrison..picture courtesy Cailean Maclean, Skye Media

6/8 March
1 Derek Midgley
2 Keith Bowes
3 Darach Urquhart
4 Fred Morrison
5 Piers Dover

1 Fred Morrison
2 Finlay Cameron
3 Ben Duncan
4 Cameron May
5 Jamie Forrester

Col. Jock MacDonald Clasp for former winners of the Dunvegan Medal (four played)
1 Derek Midgley, Macleod of Colbeck’s Lament (Derek is pictured above)
2 Fred Morrison
3 Sarah Muir

MacRaeBanner ’19
Ayrshire Bagpipes Nov 2020
shepherd banner ’22
silver chanter banner 2024

Kemble Star March
1 Ben Duncan
2 Jamie Forrester
3 Cameron May
4 Keith Bowes
5 Fred Morrison
6 Darach Urquhart

Ben Duncan after the results today

Peter MacFarquhar Star S&R
1 Ben Duncan
2 Fred Morrison
3 Steven Leask
4 Sarah Muir
5 Nick Hudson
6 Alistair Brown

Champion Piper (£500): Fred Morrison; Best Light music (£200): Fred Morrison; Best local piper: Darach Urquhart

Ceòl Mòr – Open Under-18
1 Hector Finlayson, Erbusaig; 2 Seonaidh Forrest, Sleat 3 Sam DeVries, Sleat.

Junior prizewinners at Skye

March Strathspey & Reel – Open Under-18
1 Hector Finlayson 2 Seonaidh Forrest 3 Sam DeVries

Judges: A Forbes, A MacDonald, I MacFadyen, A Maclean, M McRae, J Wilson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *