2022 Glengarry Cup Result

On Saturday, September 24, the Ottawa Branch of the Pipers’ and Pipe Band Society of Ontario held the Glengarry Cup.

This event marked the first in person event for the association since February 2020 and drew a crowd of almost 100, filling the room at the Army Officers’ Mess, in Ottawa.

By Karine Mayers, President, PPBSO Ottawa Branch

The event was held this weekend as it coincides with the National Police and Peacekeepers Memorial events on Parliament Hill, which brings in police pipe bands from outside the area.

It was wonderful to see the community gathered once again and welcome these performers from across the province.

Prizewinners and officials at the 2022 Glengarry Cup

The Glengarry Cup has been awarded since the 1980s when it was donated by the Glengarry Pipe Band. Past winners include Bruce Gandy, Colin MacLellan, Michael Grey, Andrew Hayes, Rob Crabtree, Andrea Boyd, Matt MacIsaac and many others.

Twelve competitors played an MSR of their own choice and the judge was Michael Grey, President of the PPBSO.

Result: 1 Ian K. MacDonald 2 Andrea Boyd 3 Daniel Carr 4 Jacob Dicker 5 Tyler Bridge 6 Aidan Bowen

Ian K is pictured receiving his trophy from the adjudicator Michael Grey (r).

MacRaeBanner ’19
Ayrshire Bagpipes Nov 2020
shepherd banner ’22
silver chanter banner 2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *