Very Large Entry for Annual Scottish Pipers’ Association Professional Competition

John Dew, winner of the SPA Former Winners’ MSR last year

Entries for the Scottish Pipers’ Association annual professional competition are oversubscribed in all grades except P/A Piobaireachd, President Logan Tannock has announced.

Entries close on Sunday, March 24. Nine have entered the P/A Piob so far. Other grades have 25 plus pipers lined up with a waiting list in lieu of cancellations in place.

The competition is sponsored by the Piobaireachd Society, and the Competing Pipers’ Association.

Pipers entered are as follows: Alastair Murray, Alex Gehrig, Alistair Brown, Andrew Bell, Andrew Graham, Andrew Hall, Andrew Pattison, Andrew Smith, Angus MacPhee, Anna Kummerlöw, Ashley McMichael, Ben Duncan, Ben Mulhearn, Bob Low, Bobby Allen, Bradley Parker, Brodie Watson-Massey, Callum Davidson, Callum Wynd, Calum Dunbar, Cameron MacLeod, Cameron May, Cameron O’Neill, Catriona Norman, Christopher McLeish, Craig Muirhead, Dan Nevans, Daniel Johnstone, Edward Gaul, Eireann Iannetta-Mackay, Finlay Frame, Gavin Greene, Gill Cairns, Gordon McCready, Hazel Whyte, Hector Munro, Iain Simpson, James Frazer, John Dew, John McDonald, John McElmurry, John Mulhearn, Jonathon Simpson, Karen McCrindle Warren, Kris Coyle, Kyle Cameron, Kyle Shead, Lewis Maxwell, Luke Kennedy, Melissa Jeffrey, Michael Fitzhenry, Neil Smith, Norman Gillies, Owen Muir, Peter F Skae, Robbie MacIsaac, Ross Conner, Sandy Cameron, Scott Garden, Scott MacAskill, Scott McKay, Simon Marshall, Stewart Dickson, Walter Glendinning, William McCallum.

MacRaeBanner ’19
Ayrshire Bagpipes Nov 2020
shepherd banner ’22

Judges on duty are: E Anderson, R Barnes, A Forbes, P Hunt, T Johnstone, R Livingstone, R MacShannon, J Taylor, R Wallace, W Wotherspoon.

Logan said: ‘C grades, B Piobaireachd and Open Light music are now at capacity. We still have spaces in the  Former Winners MSR (for eligible pipers) and the Open Piobaireachd. However this is the last few days for entry as it closes on March 24th at 13:00hrs.  

‘There are nine events across three performance areas, C grade Piobaireachd, C grade Marches, C grade Strathspeys and Reels, B Grade Piobaireachd, Open Marches, Open Strathspeys and Reels, Open Piobaireachd and 6/8 March (played during tuning time for the Piobaireachd) and the Former Winners March. Strathspey and Reel competition.

Scottish Pipers’ winners in 2019: William Geddes, Darach Urquhart, Sarah Muir and Calum Brown

‘Venue is the NPC McPhater Street; date is 6th April, a full day’s entertainment for only £5 admission. We start early in the morning (time yet to be confirmed) with the C Piobaireachd in the Auditorium, the Open March and the Open Strathspey and Reel in the Collinson Room and the C March and the C Strathspey and Reel in the Robertson room.

‘The Former Winners will follow on from the C Piobaireachd in the Auditorium. The Open Piobaireachd will follow on from the Open Light Music in the Collinson room. The B Piobaireachd will follow the C light music in the Robertson room.’

P/A Piobaireachd: Donald MacLeod Trophy; three prizes, five places: £100, £70, £40; four tunes.
B Piobaireachd: three prizes, five places: £80, £50, £30; three tunes.
C Piobaireachd: three prizes, five places: £70, £40, £20; three tunes.

6/8 March: Duncan MacFadyen Memorial Trophy; one prize of £50; own choice 6/8 to be played during the tuning time for the P/A Piobaireachd.

P/A/B March: three prizes, five places: £50, £30, £25; three tunes.
P/A/B S&R: three prizes, five places: £80, £50, £30; three tunes of each.

MSR for Former Winners of P/A M & S/R: Eachen Caimbeul Trophy; three prizes: £100, £70, £40; four of each, two of each to be played once over.

C March: three prizes, five places: £40, £25, £20; three tunes.
C S&R: three prizes, five places: £40, £25, £20; three of each.

Entry Fee £10 per event; entries here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *