RU Brown Piobaireachd Society Results

The RU Brown Piobaireachd Society Gold Medal and Clasp competitions are probably the most prestigious in Australia. This year’s contests took place last weekend at the Scotch College, Adelaide, South Australia, with over 120 competitors in eight different classes.

The above picture shows (l – r) Clasp winner Jason Craig, Gold Medallist Stuart Easton and light music prizewinner Craig Sked. The Society was established following a visit by RU Brown to Adelaide in the early 1970s. RU Brown was one of the ‘Bobs of Balmoral’, a superb piper and interpreter of piobaireachd who dedicated the last year’s of his life to passing on the teaching of his master John MacDonald of Inverness. RU Brown took ill on his last trip to Australia and died on his return to his home on Deeside.

Gold Medal
1 Stuart Easton – Clan MacNab’s Salute
2 Elizabeth Drury –  Lament for Mary MacLeod
3 Mark McKenzie – The Bicker
4 Dennis Browning – The Red Speckled Bull
5 Josh Chandler – Catherine’s Lament

Clasp for former winners of the Gold Medal
1 Jason Craig – Beloved Scotland
2 Brett Tidswell – King’s Taxes
3 Ross Campbell – Lord Lovat’s Lament
4 Peter Hewlett – Lament for the Children

The RU Brown Gold Medal

Silver Medal
1 Graham Durant –Law
2 Robert Wilkinson
3 James Wansink

Bronze Medal
1 Anna Blanch
2 Geoffrey Smith
3 Adam Earl

A Grade MSR
1 Stuart Easton
2 Craig Sked
3 Jonathan Quay

[wds id=”6″]

A Grade H/J
1 Stuart Easton
2 Craig Sked
3 Josh Chandler

B Grade MSR
1 Anna Doecke
2 Gabrielle Doecke
3 James Wansink

B Grade H/J
1 Lewis Hayward
2 Anna Doecke
3 Aiden Bestwick

C Grade Marches
1 Peter Frethy
2 Andy Thompson
3 Anna Blanch

D Grade Marches
1 Anna Blanch
2 Oscar Bartos
3 Erin Dougan-Kittel

[wds id=”2″]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *