USPF Maclean Macleod Memorial Results (updated)

The United States Piping Foundation Maclean Macleod Memorial Piping Champion for 2015 is Northern Ireland’s Andrew Carlisle.

Andrew, a member of Field Marshal Montgomery Pipe Band, and currently Professor of Piping at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, PA, placed second in the Piobaireachd competition and first in the MSR to take the title. In addition to his prize of $1,800, Andrew receives a transatlantic air fare to compete in Scotland and also a paid invitation to compete at the Lorient Festival Interceltique MacCrimmon Trophy in Brittany. He is pictured above (left) with USPF Amateur Champion Sean Regan.

Runner up in the Professional was Bruce Gandy of Halifax, Nova Scotia. Bruce won the Piobaireachd section with a fine rendition of Lament for the Children and placed third in the MSR. The USPF competition is restricted to pipers domiciled in North America. Overall points are allocated on a five for first, four for second etc basis.

The full prize list is as follows:

Ceol Mor:

1 Bruce Gandy, Lament for the Children ($1,000)
2 Andrew Carlisle, Red Speckled Bull ($800)
3 Ben McClamrock, Lament for Ronald MacDonald of Morar($600)
4 Andrew Lewis, Park Piobaireachd No2($400)
5 Derek Midgley, Rout of the Lowland Captain($200)

Ceol Beag:

1 Andrew Carlisle ($1,000)
2 Alex Gandy ($800)
3 Bruce Gandy ($600)
4 Ben McClamrock($400)
5 Nick Hudson($200)

Judges for the Professional events were Mike Cusack from Texas, and Robert Wallace, Glasgow. 17 played in the Ceol Mor and 16 in  the light music.

Amateur Competition

Adjudicator Nancy Tunnicliffe reported a high standard of play but several nervous performances. The winner also received a trip to Scotland with a two-week study bursary part of the package. The Donald MacPherson Silver Quaich is awarded tot the winner of the Amateur Piobaireachd and the Seumas MacNeill Silver Quaich goes to the winner of the Amateur MSR.

Ceol Mor:

1 Sean Regan, King’s Taxes
2 Grace Washam
3 Laura Neville
4 James Dyson
5 Eryk Bean

Ceol Beag

1 Stanton Man
2 Sean Regan
3 Eryk Bean
4 James Dyson
5 Andrew Coulter

Overall Amateur Champion
1 Sean Regan

Judges for Amateur events: Nancy Tunnicliffe, William McCallum

Check Piping Press later for comment, pictures and further updates.

[wds id=”11″]