Glenfiddich Result


The 2014 championship was won by Stuart Liddell (pictured above on his way to victory and below with the trophy) who placed 3rd in Ceol Mor and 2nd in the MSR. Runner-up was Bruce Gandy and third Roderick MacLeod. .

The invitees at Blair (l -r): Angus MacColl, Godon McCready, William McCallum, Niall Stewart, Bruce Gandy, Roderick MacLeod, Douglas Murray, Stuart Liddell; Sitting: Jack Lee, Iain Speirs

Full results
Ceol mor
1 Roderick MacLeod, Isabel MacKay
2 Bruce Gandy, Big Spree
3 Stuart Liddell, Lament for Colin Roy MacKenzie
4 William McCallum, Rout of the Lowland Captain
5 Angus MacColl, Bells of Perth
Judges: Andrew Wright, William Wotherspoon, Colin MacLellan
Ceol beag
1 Niall Stewart – Mrs Duncan MacFadyen, Hector MacLean, Kildonan
2 Stuart Liddell – Mrs John MacColl, Cat Lodge, John Morrison, Assynt House
3 Willie McCallum – Inveran, Ewe Wi the Crookit Horn, Man from Glengarry
4 Bruce Gandy – Crags of Stirling, Islay Ball, Brown Haired Maid
5 Douglas Murray – MacLean of Pennycross, Highland Harry, John MacDonald’s Reel
Judges: John Wilson, Ronald MacShannon, Malcolm McRae

1 Stuart Liddell
2 Bruce Gandy
3 Roderick MacLeod

Balvenie Medal for Services to Piping: Jackie Roberts, Scottish Piping Society of London

Prize money
1 £1,750 2 £1,000 3 £800
Ceol Mor
1 £270 2 £240 3 £220 4 £200 5 £180
Ceol Beag
1 £270 2 £240 3 £220 4 £200 5 £180

Read Robert Wallace’s critique of the playing here.

Three main winners, Niall Stewart, Stuart Liddell, Roderick MacLeod