Donald MacLeod Memorial Results

Alasdair Henderson with his trophies

The Annual Donald MacLeod Memorial Competition was held today (April 5) in Stornoway, isle of Lewis. The competition is organised by the Lewis and Harris Piping Society. A very high standard was reported.

1. Alasdair Henderson, Lament for John Morrison of Assynt House
2. Callum Beaumont, Peter James MacInnes’s Lullaby
3. Stuart Liddell, A Son’s Salute to his Parents
4. Finlay Johnston, Lament for Angus MacPherson of Invershin

March, Strathspey & Reel
1. Finlay Johnston, Duncan MacColl, Major Manson, Susan MacLeod, Piper’s Bonnet, Fiona Macleod Sheepwife
2. Angus MacColl, Cowal Gathering, Brig o’Feuch, Atholl Cummers, Stac Pollaidh,Drumlithie, Alick C MacGregor
3. Roderick MacLeod, Knightswood Ceilidh, Hugh Kennedy, Stac Pollaidh, Arniston Castle, John Garroway, Lt Col DJS Murray
4. Alasdair Henderson, Mrs Duncan MacFadyen, Col. MacLean of Ardgour, Highland Harry, Susan MacLeod, Restalrig Rd., Drumlithie

Hornpipe & Jig (does not count towards overall)
1. Stuart Liddell, Raigmore, The Canister
2. Callum Beaumont, Donald MacLeod, Skye
3. Angus MacColl, Billy Connelly’s Hornpipe, Kitchenmaid
4. Roderick MacLeod, Colin MacKay, Donnie MacGregor

Overall: Alasdair Henderson (piob. pref.)
Second Overall: Finlay Johnston

This year’s competition took place as usual in the Caladh Inn, Stornoway.

The judges were I Duncan, M Henderson, R Lightfoot.

MacRaeBanner ’19
Ayrshire Bagpipes Nov 2020
shepherd banner ’22

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *