Argyllshire Gathering 150th Anniversary Competitions – Further Details

Two major piping events will be held in Oban on August 25 and 26 to celebrate the Argyllshire Gathering’s founding in 1871.

As previously announced on Piping Press, seven leading pipers with county connections have been invited to play in a competition for Piobaireachd, March, Strathspey and Reel, and Medley. These events are on the Wednesday, August 25.

The pipers are: Sarah Muir, Jamie Forrester, William McCallum, Angus MacColl, Stuart Liddell, Finlay Johnston and Alasdair Henderson.

Prizemoney is £300 for a first, £200 for a second and £100 for a third. There is also a £500 prize for the overall winner (Piob. & MSR only). Commemorative medals may be struck for the winners.

The competition begins at 12 noon in the Argyllshire Gathering Halls, Oban. The MSR is scheduled for 4pm and the Medley for 7pm. All times are approximate.

The draws for the Wednesday events are as follows (Argyll connection included):

1 Angus D MacColl, Benderloch
2 Finlay Johnston, Isle of Tiree
3 Alasdair Henderson, Dunoon
4 Stuart Liddell, Inveraray
5 Sara Muir, Campbeltown
6 Jamie Forrester, Isle of Mull
7 William McCallum, Campbeltown

1 Sara Muir.
2 Alasdair Henderson
3 Finlay Johnston
4 William McCallum
5 Stuart Liddell
6 Jamie Forrester
7 Angus D MacColl

1 Finlay Johnston
2 Jamie Forester
3 Stuart Liddell
4 Angus D MacColl
5 Alasdair Henderson
6 William McCallum
7 Sara Muir

Judges for the Piobaireachd are: Iain MacFadyen, Dr Angus MacDonald and Colin MacLellan. For the MSR, judges are: Barry Donaldson, Ian Duncan and John Wilson; for the Medley: Ian Duncan, Barry Donaldson and Dr Angus MacDonald.

The compeition will be before a ‘live’ audience. Ticket details to follow.

[wds id=”2″]

The following day, August 26, there will be the march to the games field at Mossfield Park, Oban, followed by light music competitions for P/A grades and B grades as agreed by the Joint Committee for Solo Piping.

The above judges will form three benches, two on each. There will be three platforms, one for the P/A events, one for the B and one for the Open Jig.

The competitions will begin with the March at both benches with the pipers returning after lunch for the Strathspey & Reel. The Jig will run concurrently.

The draws for these contests are as follows:

P/A March and P/A Strathspey and Reel

  1. Jenny Hazzard, Edinburgh
  2. Angus J MacColl, Benderloch
  3. Calum Brown, Peterculter
  4. Sarah Muir, Campbeltown
  5. Gordon Bruce, Kilwinning
  6. Jonathan Greenlees, Ballyeaston, NI.
  7. Greig Canning, Kirkcaldy
  8. Steven Leask, Glasgow
  9. William McCallum, Campbeltown
  10. Donald MacPhee, Alexandria
  11. Steven Gray, Lockerbie
  12. Pipe Major Ben Duncan, Royal Scot Dragoon Guards
  13. Jamie Forester, Isle of Mull
  14. Cameron MacDougall, Nigg
  15. Alan Russell, Kelty
  16. Stuart Liddell, Inveraray
  17. Angus D MacColl, Benderloch
  18. Calum Watson, Bathgate
  19. William Geddes, Dumfries
  20. Darach Urquhart, Kyle
  21. Matt Wilson, Dollar
There will be the traditional march to the games this year and it is hoped all the competing pipers will support the Gathering in this. In this picture, from 1979, William Livingstone, Ontario, the winner of the Gold Medal, is the duty pipe major

‘B’ March and ‘B’ Strathspey and Reel

  1. John Macdonald, Bridge of Don
  2. Dan Nevans, Glasgow
  3. Fraser Allison, Balfron
  4. Kristopher Coyle, Carrickfergus
  5. Andrew Ferguson, Dollar
  6. Callum Wynd, Dunblane
  7. Jamie Elder, Auchtermuchty
  8. Ruaraidh Brown, Dunblane
  9. Sandy Cameron, Roy Bridge
  10. Ross Miller, Glasgow
  11. Archie Drennan, Drumnadrochit
  12. Brodie Watson-Massey, Edinburgh
  13. Dr Peter McCalister, Dunblane
  14. John Dew, Crieff
  15. Andrew Hall, Glasgow
  16. Finlay Cameron, Roy Bridge
  17. Jonathon Simpson, Edinburgh
  18. Decker Forest, Isleornsay

Jigs: Entrants can play when they have finished their March or Strathspey and Reel.

‘A’ Marches: I Duncan, B Donaldson
‘B’ Marches: J Wilson, I MacFadyen
‘A’ S&R: J Wilson, I MacFadyen
‘B’ S&R: I Duncan, B Donaldson
Jigs: Dr A MacDonald, C MacLellan

Oban Games Prizemoney:
P/A March: 1 £150, 2 £120, 3 £95, 4 £80, 5 £70
P/A S&R: 1 £150, 2 £120, 3 £95, 4 £80, 5 £70
‘B’ March: 1 £100, 2 £75, 3 £65, 4 £55, 5 £45
‘B’ S&R: 1 £100, 2 £75, 3 £65, 4 £55, 5 £45
Jig: 1 £100, 2 £70, 3 £60, 4 £50, 5 £40

Torquil Telfer, Piping Convenor, said: ‘Whilst it is disappointing that we cannot, once more, put on the Argyllshire Gathering as previous years, we feel that these events will go a significant way to commemorate our 150th Anniversary.

The Argyllshire Gathering’s popular Piping Steward, Torquil Telfer

‘I am sure the competing pipers will turn out to support us on the march to the games on the Thursday and we are hoping for a good crowd of piping enthusiasts too.

‘The two days we are promoting offer a wonderful opportunity to hear world class piping ‘face to face’, something that we have all been missing so much.’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *