Argyllshire Gathering and Northern Meeting Gold and Silver Medal Candidates for 2021 Announced

The pipers listed below have been been granted entry into the Gold Medal and Silver Medal competitions to be held at the Argyllshire Gathering, Oban, and Northern Meeting, Inverness, on August 25 and September 2.

The names were agreed unanimously at the annual Joint Eligibility Committee Meeting attended by representatives of the Northern Meeting, Argyllshire Gathering, the Piobaireachd Society, Competing Pipers Association and the Solo Judges Association. The meeting was held online.

The successful pipers have been notified individually. The main criteria for eligibility were track record, grading, and compliance with entry deadlines.

It should be noted that the current intention is for these competitions to go ahead but they may be affected by pandemic regulations. Promoters will notify the piping public as soon as any change in plans is agreed. Oban’s MacGregor Memorial and Intermediate RG Hardie MSR contests for junior professional pipers will go ahead online should the live event have to be cancelled.

Piper on stage in the main auditorium at Eden Court Theatre, Inverness

The selected Gold Medal pipers, in no particular order, are:

John Angus Smith (Inverness only)
Craig Sutherland (Inverness only)
Glenn Brown (Oban only)
Peter McCalister (Oban only)
Connor Sinclair (Oban only)
Sandy Cameron
Andrew Donlon (USA)
Nick Hudson (USA)
Sarah Muir
Gordon Bruce
Andrew Carlisle
Jamie Forrester
Alex Gandy (Canada)
William Geddes
Jonathon Greenlees
Steven Leask
Alastair Lee (Canada)
Angus John MacColl
Cameron Macdougall
James MacHattie (Canada)
James MacKenzie
Ben McClamrock (USA)
Gordon McCready
Sean McKeown (Canada)
Derek Midgley (USA)
Allan Russell
Innes Smith
Darach Urquhart

Reserves: Ben Duncan (1st), Andrea Boyd (2nd), James Beaumont (3rd).

Those eligible for the Silver Medals at both ‘majors’ are:

Ben Duncan
Xavier Boderiou (France)
Finlay Cameron
Anna Kummerlöw (Germany)
John Dew
Ursa Beckford (USA)
Ruairidh Brown
Calum Brown
Kristopher Coyle
Jacob Dicker (Canada)
Jamie Elder
Andrew Ferguson
Michael Fitzhenry
Edward Gaul
Alexander Gehrig (Germany)
Kate Kimove (NZ)
Zephan Knichel (Canada)
Teddy Krogh (USA)
Ashley McMichael
Ross Miller
Dan Nevans
Matt Pantaleoni (USA)
William Rowe (NZ)
Campbell Wilson (NZ)
Callum Wynd

Piper Alastair Lee from British Columbia competing at the Argyllshire Gathering

Reserves: Jonathan Simpson (1st), Calum Watson (2nd), John MacDonald (3rd), Edward McIlwaine (4th), Bobby Durning (5th).

Entries for the ‘A’ Grade light music are as follows:

And the ‘B’ grade light music:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *