Tunes Selected, Heats, and Judges for MacGregor Memorial 2020

Prizewinners in the 2018 MacGregor: Bobby Allen, Andrew Ferguson, Calum Brown and Josh Chandler

Tunes and heats have now been allocated for this year’s MacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd Competition promoted by the Highland Society of London and organised by the Argyllshire Gathering.

The competition is for young professional pipers aged 22 on the date of the competition. It is one of the most prestigious in world piping. Four pipers from each heat will go forward to a final, format to be confirmed.

It is usual that the winner of the MacGregor is promoted to the following year’s Silver Medal at Oban. This year that will be at the discretion of the judges.

Each piper had to submit four tunes of his/her own choice by July 15. The tunes chosen by the judges are listed below. A different tune will be selected for those who make the final. The heats will be conducted by YouTube submission.

All performances have to be with the Piping Convenor Torquil Telfer by midnight on July 29. Judging will commence thereafter and winners notified as soon as possible.

Mr Telfer said: ‘We are delighted by enthusiasm for the competition in what is a difficult year. We have attracted entries from throughout the piping world from pipers aged 14 to 21. They have submitted a fine array of tunes, some of them very difficult.’

Highland dress must be worn for the performance recording. Prizes: College of Piping Trophy, to be held for one year, 1st £100, 2nd £75, 3rd £50, 4th £40 (fourth prize at judge’s discretion).

Heat A – Judge Bill Livingstone
Jordan Ednie, 19, Monifeith – Battle of Auldearn No 2
Hazel Whyte, 17, Larkhall – The Groat
Chris Happs, 17, Gorebridge – Lament for Mary MacLeod
Hamish Drennan, 19, Drumnadrochit – Old Men of the Shells
Ian Hamilton, 18, Paisley – MacCrimmon’s Sweetheart  
Anna Smart, 19, Dunfermline – Too Long in This Condition
Ross Conner, 17, Campbeltown – Lachlan MacNeil Campbell of Kintarbert’s Fancy
Abbas Manchandi, 18, Brisbane – Lament for Donald of Laggan
Andrew Orr, 17, Fort William – Battle of the Pass of Crieff
Lewis Maxwell, 14, Alva – Catherine’s Lament
Bobby Allan, 17, Chryston – Lament for the Viscount of Dundee
Bede Patterson, 19, Balmain, NSW – Wee Spree
Finlay Frame, 20, West Kilbride – The Vaunting
Kyle Shead, 21, Selby, N Yorks. – Rory MacLoude’s Lament
Thomas McCollom, 15, Deerton, USA – Sir James MacDonald of the Isles’ Lament
Tomas Young, 17, Dunoon – Lament for Donald of Laggan
Henry Paluch, 16, Ontario – Black Donald’s March
Eala Niamh McIlhinney, 15, Duntocher – Struan Robertson’s Salute

MacGregor 2013 – the late Angus Nicol presents the winners’ trophy to Sandy Cameron, Roy Bridge

Heat B – Judge Stuart Samson
Kevin Darmadi, 18, Houston, TX – MacDougall’s Gathering
Owen Muir, 21, Lockerbie – Wee Spree
Alistair Williams, 15, Dunblane – Cabar Feidh Gu Brath
Gregor MacDonald, 17, Oban – MacFarlane’s Gathering 
Cameron May, 17, Lesmahagow – Lament for Captain MacDougall
Campbell Wilson, 17, Christchurch, NZ – Old Men of the Shells
Dugald MacKechnie, 15, Bridge of Allan – Too Long in This Condition
Archie MacLean, 17, Edinbane – Lament for the Viscount of Dundee
Luke Kennedy, Strathavon, 17 – Lady MacDonald’s Lament
Eosaph Campbell, 17, Kyle – Earl of Seaforth’s Salute
Kyle Cameron, 15, Rosemarkie – Lament for Donald of Laggan
David Stulpner, 17, Perth, Australia – Corrienessan’s Salute
Brodie Watson-Massey, 17, Edinburgh – King’s Taxes
Harris MacLennan, 21, Polton – End of the High Bridge
Connor Kellet, 21, Kyle – MacLeod of Raasay’s Salute
Aiden Bestwick, 21, Sydney, Kinlochmoidart No 2
Angus MacPhee, 19, Inverness – Battle of Auldearn No 1
Liam MacDonald, 19, Ontario – Marquis of Argyll’s Salute

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *