Northern Meeting and Argyllshire Gathering Competition Lists Announced With Rule Changes

Helen Urquhart, Secretary of the Competing Pipers’ Association, has sent this:

The Eligibility Committee, made up of representatives from the Northern Meeting, Argyllshire Gathering, Competing Pipers’ Association and Senior Judges met in Perth on Sunday 24th February.

Lists for this year’s Gold and Silver have been confirmed at both events and players have been notified. The full lists of competitors are attached to this press release. 

At the meeting a number of issues were discussed and for clarity to all players the Argyllshire Gathering and Norther Meetings would like to state: 

– If a player wishes to withdraw from an event, they must do so before 1st August of the year. Any player who withdraws without valid reason after 1st August will be disqualified for entry in the following year. 

– The deadline for application into both events is 31st January of the playing year. If you miss deadline for application on 31st January your application may not be considered. Then there is a deadline for entry of 31st May for payment and tune submission. 

– Tuning lights and timers will be used at events. It is a player’s responsibility to acknowledge and begin playing within this time. Continuing to tune after the time has expired will lead to disqualification. 

[wds id=”2″]

– Players may be given the same tunes chosen at The Argyllshire Gathering and Northern Meetings. 

All these stipulations have been agreed following instances in events in recent years, and it was felt that it was worth reiterating this to all players. 

The Northern Meetings and Argyllshire Gathering would like to thank all the entrants this year, it will be another great year of competition. The Competing Pipers’ Association would like to inform all members that the AGM this year will be on Sunday 25th August (time and venue TBC) but we would urge all members to attend to be part of the organisation’s development. 

Pictured top is a shot from the 2018 Argyllshire Gathering featuring Oban Silver Medallist Darach Urquhart, Kyle of Lochalsh (far right), and 2018 Oban Gold Medallist, Stuart Easton, New Zealand (far left)

The lists, starting with the Senior Piobaireachd at Oban:

The coveted Highland Society of London Gold Medals on offer at Oban and Inverness

For the complete list of competitors, including the light music, click download:

[wds id=”8″]
Posted in News   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *