Skye Gathering: Silver Chanter, Kemble Star, P MacFarquhar Star, Clasp, Dunvegan Medal Results (Updated)

The Dunvegan Medal is one of our most important piobaireachd awards. Pipers have to submit four tunes from a list of MacCrimmon or MacCrimmon-related tunes. There was a mixed standard of play today with many pipers struggling with their instruments. Twenty-two played. The picture above shows the 2017 medallist Ian K.MacDonald from Toronto. Ian gave an outstanding performance of the classic Lament for Donald Ban MacCrimmon. Stay tuned for comment from the Editor.

1 Ian K MacDonald (pictured), Lament for Donald Ban MacCrimmon
2 Nick Hudson, Lament for Macleod of Colbeck
3 Jamie Forrester, Battle of Waternish
4 Anna Kummerlöw, King's Taxes
5 P/M Peter MacGregor, Flame of Wrath for Squinting Peter
Judges were: Alan Forbes, Malcolm McRae, Iain Murdo Morrison

Later that evening the Col Jock MacDonald Clasp was held in Portree with the following result:

1 Dr Innes Smith, King's Taxes
2 Derek Midgley
3 Ian K. MacDonald

[wds id="6"]

Wednesday saw good contests for the March and Strathspey and Reel prizes and the Silver Chanter.

Cameron Drummond won the Silver Chanter with the Battle of Waternish. Malcom McRae judged. Other players and tunes were:

Finlay Johnston, Lament for the Earl of Antrim
Derek Midgley, Lament for Patrick Og
Ian K MacDonald, Lament for Mary MacLeod
Callum Beaumont, Lament for the Children
Roderick MacLeod, MacSwan of Roaig

Kemble Star March
1 Derek Midgley
2 Ian K MacDonald
3 Jamie Forrester
4 Ben Duncan
5 Nick Hudson
6 Darach Urquhart

Peter MacFarquhar Star S&R
1 Simon McKerrall
2 Ben Duncan
3 Darach Urquhart
4 Jamie Forrester
5 Ian K MacDonald
6 Peter MacGregor
Wednesday judges: I MacFadyen, M McRae, A Maclean, I Morrison

6/8 March
1 Ian K MacDonald
2 Jame Forrester
3 Ben Duncan
4 Derek Midgley
5 Darach Urquhart

1 Cameron Drummond
2 Simon McKerral
3 Nick Hudson
4 Derek Midgley
5 Cameron MacDougall
Ceol beag and junior judges: I MacFadyen, A Maclean, D MacNeill

U-18 Piob
1 Finlay Cameron
2 Archie MacLean
3 Martin McRae

U-18 MST
1 Finlay Cameron
2 Eosaph Caimbeul
3 Archie MacLean

Overall Winner across all Senior Competitiions sponsored by the Highland Society of London: Ian K MacDonald

Dr Alan MacDonald prize for overall winner of the Ceol Beag Competitions: Ian K MacDonald

[wds id="13"]