Argyllshire Gathering – Pictures & Complete Results from Day 2

AG logoDay Two at the Argyllshire Gathering saw the bulk of the ceol beag events taking place at Mossfield Park, Oban. The competing pipers were led there by the winner of the Gold Medal from yesterday. This year that honour fell to Ian K. MacDonald of Ontario, Canada, who was placed first with his tune Mary’s Praise.

Yesterday was a great day all round for North America with the Silver Medal going to Nick Hudson of Pittsburgh, PA, with MacDonald’s Are Simple and second in the Gold Medal to Sean McKeown also of Ontario. Get yesterday’s full results here.

Home honour was restored by Stuart Liddell, Inveraray, and Finlay Cameron, Roy Bridge. Stuart took the Senior Piobaireachd title for the second year in succession. Stuart’s tune was Donald MacLeod’s A Son’s Salute to His Parents. This was the first time a tune by the master composer had taken such an important prize.

Finlay was placed first in the MacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd for junior pipers and now qualifies for next year’s Silver Medal. Last evening saw Alasdair Henderson take one of the two major world light music prizes when he won the Former Winners’ March, Strathspey & Reel. This was Alasdair’s first go at the ‘big one’ and represents a considerable achievement. Last year he won both the ‘A’ grade events at the games.

Alasdair, who is related to the great piping figure John MacLellan, Dunoon, is P/Sgt of the Inveraray Pipe Band, runners up in this year’s World Pipe Band Championship. He is pictured up top receiving his Royal Scottish Pipers’ Society Silver Star and trophy from Argyllshire Gathering Piping Convenor Torquil Telfer.

Results from the second day at Oban:

Alastair Lee and Finlay Johnston winners of the 'A' Grade Strathspey and Reel and 'A' Grade March
Alistair Lee and Finlay Johnston winners of the ‘A’ Grade Strathspey and Reel and ‘A’ Grade March

‘A’ March Final
1 Finlay Johnston
2 Sean McKeown
3 Callum Beaumont
4 Angus J MacColl
5 Innes Smith
Judges: P Henderson, I MacFadyen, W Morrison

NB: Pipers played in qualifying rounds for both the March and the S&R, the benches reversing for the short leets.

‘A’ S&R Final
1 Alistair Lee
2 Callum Beaumont
3 Sean McKeown
4 Gordon McCready
5 Derek Midgley
6 John Lee
Judges: B Hitchings, W Livingstone, J Wilson

1 Cameron McDougall
2 James MacHattie
3 Andrew Carlisle
4 Ben Duncan
5 Gordon McCready

‘B’ March
1 Calum Harper, Ontario
2 William Rowe
3 David Shedden
4 Connor Sinclair
5 Ben Duncan
Judges: M McRae, R MacShannon, R Worrall

Assistant Piping Steward Jamie Mellor presents the Angus Nicol trophy for overall champion in ‘B’ Grade events to Connor Sinclair, Crieff

‘B’ S&R
1 Ben Duncan
2 Andrew Lewis
3 Calum Moffat
4 Calum Watson
5 Connor Sinclair
Judges: C MacLellan, S Samson, J Taylor

Intermediate MSR for the P/M RG Hardie Memorial Trophy
1 Calum Ian Brown
2 John McElmurray
3 Connor Jardine
4 Calum Wynd
5 Lewis Russell
Judges: A Frater, N Mulvie, R Wallace

Local March
1 Aaron Hosein
2 Alastair MacLean
3 Laura Underwood
4 Rebecca Patterson

Local S&R
1 Aaron Hosein
2 Alastair MacLean
3 Laura Underwood
4 Ronald Telfer
Judges: A Frater, N Mulvie, R Wallace