Argyllshire Gathering Results from Day 1 – All Ceol Mor Results

AG logoFour of the major piobaireachd competitions in world piping were held today in Oban, Argyll.  Ian K. MacDonald, the winner of the coveted medal now leads the parade to the games park for tomorrow’s ceol beag events. Ian is pictured above celebrating with runner up Sean McKeown

Gold Medal
1 Ian K. MacDonald, Canada, Mary’s Praise
2 Sean McKeown, Canada, Isabel MacKay
3 Cameron Drummond, Stewart’s White Banner
4 Derek Midgley, USA, Battle of Waternish
5 Andrea Boyd, Canada, I Gave a Kiss to the King’s Hand
Judges: P Henderson, S Samson, J Taylor

Silver Medal
1 Nick Hudson, USA, MacDonald’s Are Simple
2 Cameron McDougall, Flame of Wrath
3 Connor Sinclair, Hector MacLean’s Warning
4 Darach Urquhart, Lament for the Castle of Dunyveg
5 Anna Kummerlöw, Germany, Flame of Wrath
Judges: I Duncan, M McRae, R Wallace

Senior Piobaireachd
1 Stuart Liddell, A Son’s Salute to His Parents
2 Bruce Gandy, Earl of Ross’s March
3 Finlay Johnston, MacLeod of MacLeod’s Lament
4 Jack Lee, Lament for Hugh
5 Angus MacColl, Phantom Piper of the Corrieyairack
Judges: W Livingstone, C MacLellan, W Morrison

IMG_1017.JPGMacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd
1 Finlay Cameron, Isabel MacKay (pictured receiving his trophy from Neil Mulvie of the Highland Society of London)
2 Calum Watson, Hector Maclean’s Warning
3 John Dew, Lachlan MacNeill’s Fancy
4 Angus MacPhee, Battle of Auldearn No 1
Judges: M Grey, B Hitchings, R Lightfoot, R MacShannon

Of the MacGregor Adjudicator Bruce Hitchings said: ‘There were the usual note errors that excluded some good players from the final. In the final there were moments of brilliance from these youngsters who all played on excellent bagpipes.’

Former Winners’ MSR
1 Alasdair Henderson
2 William McCallum
3 Angus MacColl
4 Chris Armstrong
5 Bruce Gandy
Judges: I MacFadyen, J Wilson, R Worrall

Stay tuned to Piping Press for more from the Argyllshire Gathering.

Tutor Book half page ad