Piper of the Year and Hogmanay Parties

Robert Wallace: The winner of our Piper of the Year – chosen by pipingpress.com readers – is P/M Stuart Liddell. Stuart was placed just ahead of P/M Douglas Murray and P/M Richard Parkes. I am sure voters will have been impressed by Stuart’s successes on both the solo and band platforms but more than anything by the brilliance of his playing, and, of course, that of his band, Inveraray & District….

Northern Ireland Piper of the Year (pix added)

Robert Wallace: The overall winner of this important annual award was Graham Drummond. The competition is held over two legs, ceol mor and ceol beag. Graham placed first in the first and second in the second, giving him the overall title. Pipers submit their own choice of piobaireachd and senior competitors three MSRs and junior two. It is possible for juniors to be placed ahead of seniors, and indeed, this…