AKQ and Ardmore Cup Results (Updated with Pictures)

The winner of the 2023 Archie Kenneth Quaich for amateur piobaireachd was Matthew Kirkwood playing the Battle of Auldearn No. 1, writes Peter McCalister. The competition was held today (Sat Feb 25) in the rooms of the Royal Scottish Pipers’ Society in Edinburgh.

The prize winning pipers and Mr Derek Fraser (left), Secretary of the Piobaireachd Society, are pictured above. Result:

1 Matthew Kirkwood

2 Ben Hall

3 Leslie Barrett

4 John Forbes

5 Tom Peterkin 

Matthew receives the AKQ trophy from PS Secretary Derek Fraser
On his way to victory…Matthew Kirkwood

Twenty-three played. Judges were Ronnie MacShannon and Finlay Johnston. Ronnie gave a short speech thanking the competitors and suggesting some work on the bagpipe and technique would have lifted some other performances to the level of the prize winners. The competition is promoted by the Piobaireachd Society.

As usual a very social day out at the RSPS who were thanked for their kind hospitality.

MacRaeBanner ’19
Ayrshire Bagpipes Nov 2020
shepherd banner ’22

Ardmore Cup, Waterford, Ireland

This new invitational competition attracted a large crowd. There was a very high standard of playing.

1 Connor Sinclair
2 William McCallum
3 Fred Morrison
4 Alen Tully
5 Ashley McMichael

1 Fred Morrison
2 Angus MacColl
3 Connor Sinclair
4 Chris Earls
5 Alen Tully

Overall Winner on MSR preference: Connor Sinclair; Best Dressed: Connor Sinclair.

Judges: I Duncan, R Maguire, R Parkes.

Connor receives an invite and airfare/hotel to the SunBelt Invitational 11/11/23

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *