Northern Ireland Piper of the Year Results

Piper of the Year Ashley McMichael receives his trophy from NIPotY official Michael Egan

Ken Stewart reports….The annual Northern Ireland Piper of the Year competition was held in the Adair Arms Hotel in Ballymena on Saturday 13th October 2018.

This is the fortieth year for the event and fourteen players were invited, on merit, to compete for the award.

Competitors are required to play Piobaireachd, MSR and Jig & Hornpipe with the overall title being awarded to the player who performs best in the Piobaireachd & MSR.

The results for the event were as follows:

1st    John McElmurray, Isabel MacKay
2nd   Ashley McMichael, Corrienessan’s Salute
3rd    James Fraser, Red Speckled Bull

1st   James Fraser
2nd   Ashley McMichael
3rd   William Rowe
4th   John McElmurray

Jig & Hornpipe:
1st   James Fraser
2nd   William Rowe

Best Junior Piper: John McElmurray

The Broons…Glenn and Lenny

Adjudicators for the event were Glenn Brown (Glasgow) & P/M Len Browne (N. Ireland)

[wds id=”2″]  

Posted in News   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *