Argyllshire Gathering Underway – MacGregor Qualifiers Announced

The 2017 Argyllshire Gathering began this morning in Oban with the major piobaireachd events, the Gold Medal, Senior Piobaireachd, Silver Medal and MacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd. 

Four qualifiers for the MacGregor Memorial competition announced early afternoon were: Brodie Watson-Massey, John Dew, Rebecca Tierney, Calum Brown, Brighde Chaimbeul, Andrew Ferguson, Lewis Russell, Donald Stewart. These pipers now play a different tune in the final.

The seaside town was battered by thunder storms overnight and pipers and judges are hoping for better conditions for tomorrow’s games contests. (See pic).

Sixteen adjudicators and officials gathered last night to discuss the forthcoming competitions, select the tunes and update the player lists. After the work was done it was on to a convivial dinner hosted by Piping Steward Torquil Telfer and Assistant Steward Jamie Mellor.

First pipers on in the Gold Medal are Dr Innes Smith, Gordon McCready, Andrew Carlisle and Alex Sandy. A total of 28 will play with one withdrawal that of Christopher Armstrong. First prize in this event is £500.

First pipers on in the Senior Piobaireachd are Roderick Macleod, Andrew Hayes, Jack Lee and Faye Henderson. A total of 18 will play with one withdrawal, Donald MacPhee. First prize is £500.

First on in the Silver Medal are Jacob Dicker, Anna Kummerlöw Greig Canning and Andrew Donlon. A total of 26 will play with one withdrawal Jason Craig, Australia. First prize is £300 and promotion to the Gold Medal.

Twenty-five young pipers will compete over two heats for the MacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd. There are three withdrawals, Harris Maclennan, Cameron Barnes and Calum Craib. First prize is £100 and promotion to the Silver Medal.

This evening sees the Former Winners’ March, Strathspey and Reel with pipers having to submit six of each. Pipers play their chosen tunes twice through. Twenty pipers are forward for this coveted award with two withdrawals Roderick MacLeod and Christopher Armstrong. First prize is £500.

Stay tuned to Piping Press for all results as we get them during the late afternoon and evening.

[wds id=”6″]