Northern Ireland’s Piper of the Year Results

Organiser Ken Stewart has sent this about this important annual contest held in the Province…..The annual Piper of the Year competition was held on Saturday 8th October 2016 in the Adair Arms Hotel in Ballymena. This competition is promoted by the Northern Ireland Piping Society and is an invitation only event. Competitors are selected on merit determined by their competition results, in Ireland, during the current year.

Each player is required to compete in the MSR and Piobaireachd sections with the Piper of the Year trophy being awarded to the competitor with the highest aggregate placings in both events.

The standard of performance this year was very high and resulted in a tie for the title, with the trophy being awarded to the player who placed highest in the Piobaireachd event.

Part of the attraction of this event is the recital at the close of the evening and this year, the adjudicator, P/M Chris Armstrong, gave an outstanding performance, which was greatly appreciated by the audience.


1st Ross Hume
2nd Ashley McMichael
3rd John McElmurray
4th Scott Mac Kay

1st Ashley McMichael (MacCrimmon’s Sweetheart)
2nd John McElmurry (Lady Margaret MacDonald’s Salute)
3rd Ross Hume (MacDougall’s Gathering)

Jig & H/Pipe
1st Ross Hume
2nd Ashley McMichael

Best Junior Piper: John McElmurry

Piper of the Year: Ashley McMichael