Robert Burns Junior Piping, Dumfries

Results of the 16th Robert Burns Piping Contest 5th September 2015; Held in Dumfries Academy, Dumfries; supported by South West Scotland Piping & Drumming Academy

Judges were Pipe Major Ross McCrindle  & Sgt Andrew Reid from the Army  School of Bagpipe Music & Highland Drumming in Edinburgh by kind permission of Senior Pipe Major Martin McDonald. Prizes were presented by Andy McCartney representing the South West Scotland Piping & Drumming Academy. A total 45 competitors entered the Burns Piping Contest. Organiser Sheila Howat said she was ‘absolutely delighted’ five youngsters all played a complete piobaireachd.

Under 11 Chanter
1st Angela Murray Cup – Findlay Baillie, Sanquhar
2nd Robert Burns Festival Cup – Molly Robertson, Dumfries
3nd Adam Frazer Shield –  Billie Smith, Dumfries
4th Galabank Trophy – John Glendinning, Eastriggs

Under 14 Chanter
1st Tom Holmes Cup – Charlie Stitt, Eastriggs
2nd Grierson Cup – Harry Wilkinson, Annan
3rd  Ship Inn Cup – Heather Thompson, Eastriggs

Under 14 4-parted March
1st The McBurnie Cup – Luke Kennedy, Strathaven
2nd Provost J Groom Shield – Christopher Happs, Gorebridge
3rd George McBurnie Shield – Mae Cranmer, Dumfries
4th David McKie Shield – Hazel Whyte, Larkhall
5th Tony Turner Cup – Euan Patterson, Sanquhar

Under 16 March, Strathspey & Reel
1st British Nuclear Fuels Cup – Christopher Happs, Gorebridge
2nd Gallovidian Cup – Kyle Currie, Dumfries
3rd John McQueen Trophy – Luke Kennedy, Strathaven
4th The Holywood Trust Trophy – Harry McGowan, Dumfries

Under 18 March, Strathspey & Reel
1st The PenmanTrophy – Connor Jardine, Airdrie
2nd Border Gathering Shield-  Kyle Currie, Dumfries
3rd Lochar Cup – Callum Bertram, Greenlea
4th Brian Conchie Cup – Bethany Hanley, Dumfries

Under 18 Hornpipe & Jig
1st Allan Baldwick Cup – James Costin, Maryport
2nd John Dowson Cup – Callum Bertram, Dumfries
3rd Callum Watson Shield – Bethany Hanley, Dumfries
4th Shirley Bell Cup – Christopher Happs, Gorebridge

Under 21 Slow Air, Hornpipe & Jig
1st Russell Brown Cup – Connor Jardine, Airdrie
2nd Bradford Cup-  James Costin, Maryport
3rd John Agnew MBE Cup – Callum Bertram, Greenlea
4th RMT Shield – Bethany Hanley, Dumfries

Under 21 Piobaireachd –
1st D & G Burns Trust Festival Cup – Connor Jardine, Airdrie
2nd D & G Burns Trust Festival Cup – 1 Bethany Hanley, Dumfries
3rd D & G Burns Trust Festival Cup 2 – Luke Kennedy, Strathaven
4th McCall of Brookfield Quaich –  Mae Cranmer, Dumfries
5th Robison & Davidson Shield – Christopher Happs, Gorebridge