RSPBA Glasgow & West Inaugural Indoor Contest

This was a very successful day with a large crowd filling the main auditorium at Coatbridge High School, Lanarkshire, for the inaugural championship.

gordon addresses crowdIn his address Branch Chairman Gordon Hamill thanked the local authority, North Lanarkshire Council, and in particular Mr Jim Park, Head of Music, for the use of the excellent premises and Mr Brian Robinson of Robinson Jewellers for donating the trophies. Mr Hamill added: ‘If you have enjoyed the day please tell all your friends.

‘We want this to be an annual event and are committed to running it for at least three years. One aspect that was disappointing  was the lack of juvenile drumming entries. This amazed me  because there are so many out there. So please go back to your bands and put the word out. We want to make this a permanent event and grow it as you see fit.’

Mr Hamill then thanked his officials Iain MacAskill, Secretary, Nigel Greeves, Contest Secretary, Iain Crookston, President, (who presented the band prizes) and Vice-Chair, Treasurer, Pipe Band Magazine correspondent Maureen Gilmour. Results:

P/M Ross Cowan of North Lanarkshire Schools
P/M Ross Cowan of North Lanarkshire Schools

Novice: N Lanarkshire Schools

Juv: N Lanarkshire Schools

G4: 1 Hawick 2 Johnstone 3 Kilsyth 4 Kilbarchan

G3: 1 Bothwell Castle 2 Milngavie 3 East Kilbride 4 Ayr

G2: 1 Johnstone (pictured on stage, top) 2 Bothwell Castle 3 Milngavie 4 Ayr (EP)

G1: 1 Greater Glasgow Police 2 Johnstone

[wds id=”10″]