Northern Meeting Day 2: All Results Plus Pictures – Calum Wins Clasp

The 2018 Northern Meeting Piping Competitions came to a close this evening in Eden Court Theatre. The winners are pictured above with contest officials and the Lord Provost of Inverness.

The big winner today was Callumn Beaumont, Bo’ness who won the coveted Gold Clasp, his third. Overall Champion Piper was Angus MacColl who placed second in the Clasp for the sixth time though he has also been outright winner on four occasions.

Gold Clasp
1 Calum Beaumont, Farewell to the Queen’s Ferry.
2 Angus MacColl, Mrs Smith’s Salute
3 Finlay Johnston, Salute to the MacCrimmon Cairn at Borreraig
4 Stuart Liddell, Mrs Smith’s Salute
5 Bruce Gandy, Salute to James Campbell
Judges: C MacLellan, IM Morrison, W Wotherspoon

Rothiemurchus Trophy for Overall: Angus MacColl

NM Piping Convenor Alan Forbes announces the prizes

‘B’ MSR:
1 Calum Brown
2 Liam Kernaghan
3 Callum Moffat
4 Cameron MacDougall
5 Stuart Easton
Judges: R Clark, J Wilson

Callum Beaumont on his way to winning the Clasp, his third, at Eden Court Theatre today

Hornpipe & Jig:
1 Stuart Liddell
2 Alex Gandy
3 Angus J MacColl
4 Gordon McCready
5 Alasdair Henderson
Judges: J Banks, B Hitchings, I MacFadyen

Alex Gandy, winner of the Former Winners’ MSR – an outstanding performance according to the judges

‘B’ H&J:
1 Stuart Easton
2 Calum Brown
3 Liam Kernaghan
4 Matt Wilson
5 Calum Watson
Judges: A MacDonald, M McRae

Clasp winner Callum Beaumont with his trophy and a cheque for £500

U-18 Piob:
1 Angus MacPhee
2 Campbell Wilson, NZ
3 Brodie Watson-Massey
4 Anna Smart, NZ
Judges: P Henderson, G Lumsden

U-15 Piob:
1 Kyle Cameron
2 Robert Allan
3 Drew MacKay
4 Calum Dunbar
Judges: P Grant, R Worrall

Ross Connor winner of the Under 18 MSR

U-18 MSR:
1 Ross Connor
2 Brodie Watson-Massey
3 Hamish Reade
4 Angus MacPhee
Judges: P Grant, R Worrall

U-15 MSR:
1 Calum Dunbar
2 Joseph Nicholson
3 Kyle Cameron
4 Robert Allen
Judges: P Henderson, G Lumsden

Dress and Deportment: Girls: Anna Smart ; Boys: Luke Kennedy

Best young piper from the Highlands and Islands and Moray: Angus MacPhee

Best military piper: Ross McCrindle who receives the Lt Col DJS Murray Memorial Trophy and £100

[wds id=”2″]

Posted in News   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *