US Piping Foundation Entry Details/ Uist & Barra Running Order and Tunes

The United States Piping Foundation announce that the 2018 Maclean Macleod Memorial Piping Championships will be held 16 June 2018 at the University of Delaware. 
Piobaireachd and March, Strathspey & Reel events are offered for Professional and Amateur competitors.  Professional competitions are open to all pipers domiciled in North America and classified as Professional by their home associations. Professionals submit six tunes of each type of their own choosing. Amateur competitions are open to all Grade 1 pipers. Amateurs will submit four tunes of each type of their own choosing.
Competitors, judges and organisers at the 2015 USPF

Professional prizes in each event are 1st – $1000; 2nd – $800; 3rd – $600; 4th – $400; & 5th – $200.  The overall champion for both events receives trans-Atlantic airfare from the East Coast to Glasgow, Edinburgh, or London, UK, to compete at eligible senior competitions.
Amateur prizes in each event include a variety of scholarships, with the overall champion for both events receiving round trip airfare to Scotland and two weeks tuition at an approved venue in Scotland.
Details at

[wds id=”6″]

The annual Uist & Barra Professional competition will be held at the College of Piping on Saturday (March 3). Here are tunes and the draw: 
1          Alasdair Henderson, My King Has Landed in Moidart
2          Finlay Johnston, Mrs. Smith’s Salute
3          Glenn Brown, Laird of Anapool’s Lament
4          Callum Beaumont, Craigellachie
5          Craig Sutherland, End of the Great Bridge
6          Peter McCalister, War or Peace (Gesto setting)
7          William McCallum, Old Men of the Shells

Faye Henderson, winner of the 2015 U&B ceol mor trophy

8          Angus MacColl, Battle of the Pass of Crieff
9          Jamie Forrester, MacLeans’ March
10        Roderick MacLeod, Earl of Ross’s March
11        Faye Henderson, Sir James MacDonald of the Isle’s Salute
12        Cameron Drummond, Lord Lovat’s Lament
13        Iain Speirs, Nameless (Cherede Darievea)
Angus MacColl
Jamie Forrester
Cameron Drummond
Roderick MacLeod
Pipe Sergeant Ben Duncan
U&B MSR competitor Ben Duncan in action at Askernish Machair, South Uist, 2017. Judges Willie and Iain Murdo Morrison

Iain Speirs
Craig Sutherland
Alasdair Henderson
William McCallum
Sarah Muir
Glenn Brown
Callum Beaumont
Finlay Johnston
The main picture is of last year’s U&B main winners, Callum Beaumont (ceol mor) and Finlay Johnston (MSR).

[wds id=”29″]