Steven Wins Australian Drumming Title (picture added)

Steven Shedden has been awarded the 2017 ‘A’ Grade Snare Australian Solo Drumming Championship in Canberra today, receiving the top McCormick Award presented for the first time.

All champions and placegetters receive special McCormick Award certificates honouring the inaugural principal drumming with the Australian Pipe Band College, Alex McCormick.

The championships were promoted by Canberra College of Piping and Drumming with the support of sponsors and Pipe Bands Australia. Other sponsors were Professional Bagpipe Services, TyFry, DrummingMad, Australian Pipe Band Supplies, the ACT Government and Canberra Highland Society.

[wds id=”6″]

Pipe Bands Australia has awarded Canberra the biennial titles through to 2019 with Principal Drumming Dean Hall working closely with the Canberra team under the leadership of Athol Chalmers. The titles were held at the Australian War Memorial. The pictures show prizewinners and judges.


A Grade Snare
1 Steven Shedden
2  Chris Johnston
3  Scott Birrell

B Grade Snare
1 Thomas Carruthers
2 Jessie MacMillan

C Grade Snare
1 Monte Stamm
2 William Gibson
3 Will Carrigan

D Grade snare
1 Damon Wright
2 Lachlan Coe
3 Daniel Weber 

B Grade Bass: Michael Smith
C Grade Bass: Phil Weber

A Grade Tenor: Jeremy Hand

B Grade Tenor:
1 Michael Smith
2 Connor Merigan
3 Ellen Ring

D Grade Tenor
1 Ellen Bolger-Rowe
2 Lexie Hollow

Adjudicator:  Jim Kilpatrick MBE, Dean Hall, Harold Gillespie and Tyler Fry.

[wds id=”3″]