2020 MacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd Result (updated with winning performance)

Double Gold Medallist Greg Wilson and his prize-winning son Campbell

Campbell WIlson from New Zealand has won the prestigious MacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd competition run by the Highland Society of London and the Argyllshire Gathering. After the judges considered the video submissions, the prize list was as follows:

1 Campbell Wilson
2 Henry Pulach
3 Ross Conner
4 Anna Smart

Listen to Campbell’s winning tune here:

The finalists and their tunes:

Ross Conner (17), Campbeltown, End of the High Bridge. Ross played Lachlan MacNeill Campbell of Kintarbert’s Fancy in the qualifier.

Luke Kennedy (17), Strathaven, Daughter’s Lament. Luke played Lady MacDonald’s Lament in the qualifier.

Liam MacDonald (19), Ontario, Too Long in this Condition. Liam played the Marquis of Argyll’s Salute in the qualifier.

Angus MacPhee (19), Inverness, I Gave a Kiss to the King’s Hand. Angus played Battle of Auldearn No.2 in the qualifier.

Henry Paluch (16), Ontario, Lament for the Children. Henry played Black Donald’s March in the qualifier.

Anna Smart (19), New Zealand, MacDougall’s Gathering. Anna played Too Long in this Condition in the qualifier.

Hazel Whyte (17), Larkhall, MacFarlane’s Gathering. Hazel played The Groat in the qualifier.

Campbell Wilson (17), New Zealand, Lord Lovat’s Lament. Campbell played the Old Men of the Shells No.1 in the qualifier.

Judges were R MacShannon and C Armstrong.

1 thought on “2020 MacGregor Memorial Piobaireachd Result (updated with winning performance)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *