Northern Ireland Piper of the Year Results

By Ken Stewart

Results for the Piper of the Year competition held on Saturday, 12th October at the Adair Arms Hotel in Ballymena, County Antrim. The picture above shows the Piper of the Year Scott Wallace receiving his winner’s trophy from Ben Greeves.

Promoted by the Northern Ireland Piping Society, the competition has been in existence since 1979 when it was held in Tullymore House Hotel in Broughshane. The contest moved almost twenty years ago, to the Adair Arms and is now in its 40th year.

1. Scott Wallace – King’s Taxes
2. John MacElmurray – Rory McLoude’s Lament
3. Ashley McMichael –  Massacre of Glencoe

1. Ashley McMichael
2. James Fraser
3. Scott Wallace
4. Kris Coyle

Best junior piper Ryan Cupples-Menendes receives his trophy

H/Pipe & Jig:
1. James Fraser
2. Ashley McMichael

Best Junior Player: Ryan Cupples-Menendes

Piper of the Year 2019: Scott Wallace

Judges Alastair Dunn and David Caldwell
Posted in News   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *