All-Ireland Championships – Full Results Pictures and Report

The prestigious All-Ireland Pipe Band Championships, one of the key outings in the pipe band calendar was held in New Ross, Co Wexford on Saturday 7th July. 

The championships, which rotate each year between a venue in the Republic and Northern, is organised by the Joint Association Council of the RSPBA NI Branch and the Irish Pipe Band Association.  The Chieftain of the Day was Cllr. John Fleming MCC, Mayor of New Ross Municipal District Council.

P/M Richard Parkes with the Grade 1 trophies

In the picture up top, Kevin Rogers (St Laurence O’Toole) is seen playing a tune in memory of all connected with the pipe band movement who had passed away since the last All-Ireland contest. Playing the lament was particularly poignant for Kevin as he recalled that his father, who was a fisherman from the age of just fourteen, passed away seven years ago on 6th July 2011.

Pictures and report by John Kelly and Brian Hasson. Piping Press is grateful to both gentlemen for submitting their work and allowing us to share it  with the worldwide pipe band community.

Back in winning ways….FMM at the All Irelands

The winners on the day were:
Grade 1 (overall):
1 Field Marshal Montgomery (11)
2 St Laurence O’Toole (13)

1 SLoT (2211)
2 FMM (1122)

G1 Medley
1 FMM (1112)
2 SLoT (2221)

Grade 2:
1 Closkelt (1111)
2 Ravara (2242)
3 Manorcunningham (3334)
4 New Ross (4425)

P/M David Chesney leading Closkelt to the G2 title

Grade 3A:
1 St Joseph’s, Clondalkin (1111)
2 Marlacoo (2232)
3 Drumlough (3323)
4 Thiepval Mem. (4644)

[wds id=”2″]

Grade 3B:
1 St Columcille United Gaelic, USA (ensemble pref.) (1141)
2 St Mary’s Derrytrasna (2212)
3 Tullylagan (4323)
4 Clogher (3534)

Grade 4A:
1 McNeillstown (1111)
2 MacDonald Mem. (3233)
3 Cullybackey (5542)
3 Cullen (ensemble pref.) (4455)

Grade 4B/5:
1 Gransha (1121)
2 Wicklow (4252)
3 Carlow (ensemble pref.) (3584)
4 Sgt. Walker Mem. (23411)

Local band New Ross pose for the cameras after the championships. They placed 4th in their grade

The drum major winners were:
Adult Grade: Emma Barr (Field Marshal Montgomery)
Juvenile Grade: Rachel Lowry (Armaghbreague)
Junior Grade: Abigail Wenlock (Shotts & Dykehead Caledonia) Novice Grade: Carys Graham (Upper Crossgare).


Seamus Russell (IPBA Vice-Chairman) and All-Ireland adjudicators Stephen Creighton, David Brown, John Wilson and Colin Moffett

[wds id=”2″]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *