Uist & Barra Professional – An Opportunity to Hear Top Class PIping

The rescheduled professional piping competition run by the Glasgow Uist & Barra Association will be held in the National Piping Centre, Otago Street, this Saturday, September 29.

Ordinarily the Uist & Barra is the first senior professional contest of the year but inclement weather last March led to its postponement.

The competition affords the enthusiast the opportunity of hearing some of the best currently competing pipers.

Included in the line up are the 2018 Northern Meeting Gold Medallist Peter McCalister who will play his winning tune War or Peace. Another champion from Inverness also taking part is Angus MacColl who won the overall trophy for most points in the Clasp and the Former Winners’ MSR.

Argyll’s finest…. 2018 Oban and Inverness Champions, Angus MacColl and Stuart Liddell

Vying with Angus will be Stuart Liddell who took the similar title at this year’s Argyllshire Gathering. Among other in form players competing are Glenn Brown who won the 2018 Captain John MacLellan Invitational, Gordon McCready winner of the prestigious Braemar Gold Medal earlier this month and Iain Speirs winner of this year’s Silver Chanter.

   Composing competition….click on picture for details…£1,000 first prize:

Piping Convenor John Angus Smith said: ‘I feel we have a very strong line up for the competition and I look forward to welcoming everyone on Saturday to what I am sure will be an outstanding day of piping.’

The competition begins at 9am and entry is £12 at the door (16 and Under: £6). The draw and tunes for the ceol mor are as follows:

1. Alasdair Henderson – My King has landed in Moidart
2. Stuart Liddell – Unjust Incarceration
3. Glenn Brown – Laird of Anapool’s Lament
4. Gordon McCready – Lament for Captain MacDougall
5. Craig Sutherland –  End of the Great Bridge
Peter McCalister with his Northern Meeting Gold Medal

6. Peter McCalister – War or Peace
7. William McCallum – Old Men of the Shells
8. Angus MacColl – Battle of the Pass of Crieff
9. Jamie Forrester – MacLeans’ March
10. Roderick MacLeod – Earl of Ross’s March

11. Niall Stewart – Blind Piper’s Obstinacy
12. Cameron Drummond – Lord Lovat’s Lament
13. Iain Speirs – Nameless (Cherede Darievea)
The winner receives the Glasgow Highland Club Medal.
Outstanding pipers Ben Duncan and Sarah Muir will compete in the light music only (MSR and H&J) and Peter McCalister will only play for the ceol mor. Judges: A Dòmhnullach, W Morrison, J Taylor.

[wds id=”2″]

Posted in News   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *